What were they thinking?

Anyone care to take a punt on who the racist pictured is? Some ape-knuckled nobody with a string of convictions for football violence and a promising career in handling stolen goods? Nope. That is one of our brand, spanking new Members of the European Parliament, Nick Griffin. He is no longer in the charming boys brigade that we all know and love, the National Front, made famous for such well reasoned and politically astute gestures as firebombing Asian shops, starting riots in towns, putting petrol through the letterboxes of Asian families and having swastikas tattooed on their enormous, ape-like foreheads. No, he is now the leader of the British National Party, who do exactly the same thing only using words instead of petrol bombs, wearing suits instead of ripped jeans with Doc Martens and choosing to use a knife and fork at the table instead of just shovelling food into their mouths with both hands.

Martin Luther King became famous for saying 'I have a dream'. Wise words indeed. Nick Griffin became famous for saying the holocaust was a 'holo-hoax', co-authoring a leaflet about how Jewish people were brainwashing the British (for which he received a suspended prison sentence) and claiming that men were raping women as part of an Islamic plot to take over the UK. Clearly not wise words, in fact you could claim they are the rancid ravings of an utter lunatic. And you'd probably be right.

Mr Griffin said his victory in the European elections hailed a 'Huge change in British politics'. You're damned right there you bigoted wanker, it's been 60 odd years since Oswald Mosley and his black-shirted fascists were derided in this country and I for one thought the days of a right wing basket-weavers being given political airtime were over. Shows what I know doesn't it? Now the nasty little shit has been given a front row seat on the European gravy train, worth up to £395,000 a year for a 5 year term and whose fault is it? It's ours, the people of the North West, because we voted them in.

I say we, I'd like to state here that I didn't vote for them, I'd have drawn a picture of the queen mother on a bicycle and blue tacked my ballot paper to the polling station wall before I'd have put my cross next to that odious little twerp's name, but around 20 thousand people in this region thought it would be really clever to send a message to our failing government by voting not for a main party but for a one trick pony who knows nothing at all about the economy or domestic politics but a lot about wanting to horsewhip Johnny Foreigner to the coastline and over the white cliffs of Dover into the sea. And by Johnny Foreigner he does mean anyone who is foreign or anyone who is not foreign but is not white. Good thinking people, really well done.

It's ironic, and not in a good way, that in the week we remembered those who died at Normandy and watched the veterans gathering for the services, we also voted in not just one but two fascist thugs to positions of political influence. We really don't learn do we? So to the rest of the country, on behalf of the North West and 20 thousand complete fucking idiots who under the old system of not allowing lunatics to vote would probably have had their ballot papers taken off them, I have one thing to say…….sorry.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

24 Responses

  1. It is a subject which I also feel strongly about and I thank you for writing with passion.Sometime you just have to wonder whether humans have learned any lessons from the past, and where the hell we are headed in the future.

  2. Well said, Vicola. In a way it may just turn out to be a positive thing in the long run in that it will be a lesson to those who were too apathetic to bother voting, and will expose the BNP for the ignorant fools that they are. I notice that he was pelted with eggs at his press conference, and had to run for his car. We had our experience with a xenophobe being elected to federal politics, and eleven of her party elected to State parliament. The party imploded, and have no representatives left in Parliament. The BNP will go the same way.

  3. I only select "This is good" in lieu of a choice of "Bloody marvellous post" or "I cannot believe how correct you are". As always, Vicola, your post is heartfelt and wholly accurate. It's a travesty that someone so bigoted and vicious can be in such a position of power. Makes me sick to think that although his past was littered with convictions and crime he can still be voted for.
    He makes me sad to be british.

  4. i don't know enough about english politics but even by american standards these guy's would be considered scum,and consevatives would be ashamed to include them,much like most liberals would be ashamed to include rev.wrights or bill ayers as part of their party.

  5. It's one of the saddest things I've seen in a long time. Makes such depressing reading and absolutely don't understand what is going on in people's minds to allow these morons in.

  6. I just don't get it at all, why would you vote for them, even as a protest? There are a million ways to send a message to Gordon Brown, why would you pick the stupidest one on the planet and run with it? Especially in the week when we commemerated D Day? It's all just sad.

  7. I hope they do implode, that would be well worth seeing. If they don't though, we are stuck with this utter and complete muppet as an MEP for the next five whole years. Five years gives him the chance to snaffle over a million quid in salary, expenses, cost and perks which appalls me because I pay tax and object to even a single penny of my salary going to this hideous excuse for a party.

  8. He's an embarrassment to the North West and to Britan and I bet everyone in Europe is now laughing at us and how stupid our voters can be. With any luck he'll get bored of having stuff thrown at him and give up politics but I wouldn't hold my breath…

  9. Believe me, here in the UK most decent people are really ashamed that voters of this country have returned this bunch of bigots as an MEP.

  10. It's ridiculous isn't it? I can't understand why people thought it was clever to vote for them, even if they were just doing it as a protest vote. Well, those idiots have no one but themselves to blame for the current debacle, I hope they're proud of what they've done.

  11. But if they wanted to lodge a protest vote they had any number of other parties to vote for FFS!!!

  12. Hey everyone, check out the post "G" published recently wherein he slanders me ad nauseum in his uniquely schizophrenic manner. He is such a coward he blocked me to prevent me from responding to his childish diatribe. How pathetic a creature he is. I suppose it would be unkind to admonish an abused child anyway.

  13. Not getting you, Johnnysan. Who is G?

  14. He is a strange Englishman with a VOX blog. He seems to take perverse enjoyment in posting attacks on my character. I think is weirdly jealous over my correspondence with the "Workaholic Hostess".

  15. I know! It's ridiculous. There is a serious lack of joined up thinking going on and now we've got a completely useless MEP for 5 years, elected on a protest. Why not vote for the Christian party instead? At least while they have no policies on anything much, they like to have bun sales and coffee mornings and will do you a lovely christening.

  16. He leaves comments here sometimes. JohnnyMac is new to me though, not met him before. I might be graspoing entirely the wrong end of the stick here but he seems to be a bit cross with G….

  17. Oops, he appears to have been banned – such a shame. Or he's deleted his account, one or the other. Either way he said some mean things about me and it made me slightly sad and brought a tear to my eye. Either that or it didn't bother me. I can't remember, I've not slept since then…Why aren't you tearing up the town tonight?? I'm here cos I'm in work 😦

  18. Did he? What did he say? People shouldn't just come onto my comments to have a go at my posters, it's not good etiquette. Perhaps he has a few anger management issues…I'm here because I'm skinted. I've got a 30th party tomorrow and tragically I'm too broke to go out two nights per weekend until payday. How sad is that? And what the hell are you doing at work at gone 8 on a Friday, that's surely illegal…

  19. Not when you're working night shifts it's not, sadly.I gave up on parties years ago, cos I'm skint! Things will get better, or so I keep getting told.He said "Fuck you and your Martian homo friend! BITCH!!!" then called me an "English Faggot". I laughed, both times as they were both non-approved comments which was a shame, as I find that such literary talent really should be appreciated by the masses. Instead I accidentally deleted them both and blocked him. Damn my trigger happy mouse finger.Please excuse the profanity but I felt it was justified as it was direct quote. Not that I give a fuck about swearing, mind ;)May I recommend a good bottle of Vino for you and Mr V to enjoy tonight, in lieu of decorating the town hot pink? Memories of it were stirred up by Emjay on another post she did. Sangiovese. Subtle, yet wonderful at the same time.

  20. He said what? Nasty rude asshole. There are many people I'd describe as 'bitch' but you wouldn't be one of them. He seems to have an issue with gay people too. In fact he generally doesn't seem very nice at all, according to G's comments, this crap has been plastered into a fair few people's comments pages. Odd chap.We are in fact tucking into a bottle of cabernet sauvignon as we speak! Hopefully one day soon I'll have a job that pays enough to go out 2 nights a week but until then I'll be here, in the living room, drinking wine and watching the telly like a middle aged hermit….ah well.

  21. Could be worse. It's 18 degrees in here and sounds like I'm standing behind a 747 on takeoff. Still, I've got my cup of tea…
    I hope you both enjoy your evening 🙂

  22. Ahahahah…I had not seen this one yet..Johnnysan (banned) then came on as Johhnymac and got banned again…… he spammed the whole of vox about my little post entitled stalker 2.0. (His insults just got boring so he had to go). It was fun while it lasted but all psychotic things must come to an implosive end.

  23. I don't quite understand why he thought my pages were a good place to leave his little rant. He didn't even make the obligatory reference to the subject matter in the post before venting his ire. Odd little chap isn't he? Wonder if eh's ever considered any type of therapy or anger management? If not, he should.

  24. He left the same comment all over vox. Without actually using any links, so it totally mystified most of the vox community. He's a psychotic drunk with a fetish for Japanese schoolgirls basically and honestly I think potentially dangerous to himself (meh) or others (not so meh!)…. and it's good to flush these creatures out. I consider my zapping duty done for the day.

Leave a Reply

