It’s my birthday

It’s my birthday today. I’m 31, which is rubbish. I had booked this afternoon off work so I could go out for lunch and go shopping but some asshat arranged a pre-start meeting for 1pm so now I’ll be spending my birthday afternoon on a shitworks, thanks a lot asshat. That’s really rubbish. I wanted to go to the pub with my local friends to celebrate but my parents, giving no forethought to the possible consequences in terms of celebrating, allowed me to be born slap in the middle of Jewish New Year, meaning that the nearest weekend to my birthday inevitably contains Yom Kippur, the one and only day in the year that my mainly Jewish group of local friends can’t come out. That’s properly rubbish. Still, could be worse, I could have only one eye orΒ  a passion for velour tracksuits.

34 Responses

  1. Heh, heh, heh. It’s only forty years since I was that age so I remember it well. I know you don’t need any urging from me, but Happy Birthday, Vicola!

  2. Happy Birthday, you share a birthday with my husband so you must be a magnificent person. πŸ™‚

    Have a great day however you get to spend it. .x

    • There are loads of us born around this time. Including your husband, I know of 7 people whose birthday falls in the period between 16th Sep and 22nd Sep. There must be something in the water around the start of January….

  3. Gah, that sucks. Maybe you’ll be able to celebrate properly later. Happy birthday, anyway!

    • Cheers! We’ve moved birthday drinks to this Friday as opposed to last Friday to get round the problem. It stretches the birthday out to a full week….

  4. Happy birthday! You don’t look a day over 29!

  5. Happy birthday Vicola……only I’m sure it’s not 12 months since you celebrated the last one. πŸ™‚

  6. Um, happy birthday? πŸ˜‰
    You should celebrate your half birthday instead!

    • I’m going to start working backwards from next year I’ve decided. So next year I will not in fact be 32, I will be 30, and I’m moving my birthday to August. Not only because it will avoid Yom Kippur but also because the weather is better.

  7. Many happy returns πŸ˜€

    • Cheers KingofAnkh. I know 6 people who have a birthday that falls between 16th and 22nd Sep. Clearly quite a few people in the 70s decided to bring in the New Year with a bang, so to speak….

  8. Belated Happy Birthday!

  9. Happy belated birthday! And you should have at least a birthday week so I hope the celebrations have continued for a few days x

    • I decided to have a ‘birthday weekend’, meaning this morning is the first time I’ve been sober for a few days. It was a really good weekend actually, with much celebration and lots of presents…

  10. Happy Belated Birthday. Hope the night was more fun than that meeting was. Ah, to be 31 again… LOL. Yeah, us old farts get to say that kind of stuff.

    • It was alright actually. I spent some quality time at a reservoir with the site agent and foreman, eating chocolate in the sunshine and wondering a) how the sheep had managed to get itself stuck in the weir and b) how someone was going to get it out again. Not a bad meeting at all!

  11. Ah, Virgo patience with the worldly chaos! Congratulation et petite fleur.

  12. Oh lame. I missed your birthday! A thousand pardons. A belated many happy returns. Hope you are all well. Will have to peruse your new blog. πŸ™‚

  13. Eh, don’t mind me dragging my sorry arse in here a few days late…Happy Birthday!! I will have some special birthday drinks just for you this weekend to make up for it. Hell, you’d better have some too.

  14. Turning 31… ah yes, I remember it well. It happened to me just two months ago. Let’s try not to mention it. Happy belated birthday. πŸ™‚

  15. Happy birthday you ray of sunshine πŸ™‚
    Kisses and hugs.

  16. Happy Birthday! πŸ˜‰

  17. oh man!! – hey Vi – this is what happens with a combination of my birthday and inhaling CSS and HTML code for the last week – i miss things! – HAPPY belated B-Day!! – mine was on the 18th:) – i had a birthday “weekend” as well – it’s best that way:) – night as well make the most of it! – chocolate in the sunshine and sheep – sounds good to me!

  18. Happy Belated Birthday!! I am sorry to be behind on reading posts. I hope your birthday was wonderful!!

  19. Hello Vicola..Please send me a password..I am just now getting comfortable with the ‘new?’ blogs..Peace Tony

    (duc_kf_eathers@verizon.net)

  20. Hey Vikki Happy Birthday!
    Only a coupje of weeks late but I’ve been kinda busy. You know how that goes: working away, the very odd weekend off where, out of 3 cars NONE were working so I had to rent, losing a really, REALLY good friend to cancer, that kind of thing.

    I’m really sorry I missed your birthday (or did I catch up on facebook?) but I’m so glad you found a way to stretch it into a whole week of celebrations – way to go!

    All the best.

    • Cheers Allan! And sorry to hear about your friend, that’s an awful thing to happen. Cancer is a massive bastard. Both of my grandmothers died of it and it’s a bloody vicious thing.

Leave a Reply

