Tuesday musings

Today is a good day people, a good day. The sun is shining, the birds are singing, we are nearly halfway through the week and the client forgot he asked me to do a presentation at today’s meeting so all that stress was for nothing. Even getting lost in the horrendous collection of closed roads round Preston and getting locked into the client’s reception because the door in front of me wouldn’t let me in and the one I’d come in through wouldn’t let me out couldn’t ruin today. As an aside, the client would do well to rename reception to something more appropriate, given that there isn’t anyone in it, just a book telling you to sign in and a sign on the door that says push. A fruitless exercise given that it’s locked and you have to wait for one of the surly employees to let you in. Perhaps they could call it something a little more descriptive, like ‘sweaty holding cell’ or ‘room where our employees can laugh at you pointlessly buzzing about like a fly in a bottle.

In my meeting today I noticed that the man next to me had a mole. This is not newsworthy. However, you know how some people have a mole with a hair growing in it? Well this chap’s mole had MANY hairs growing in it. And they were long hairs. It looked most peculiar, a bit like a mole in a wig. After a while I had to start concentrating really hard on not staring at the mole-in-a-wig, which possibly made me look a little bit like I might be a weirdo. Still, better than being rude eh? Well better get off and google ‘fly spray’ in readiness for tomorrow’s little adventure, ‘Vicola vs The Swarms of Evil Shitflies’. I’ll be sure to let you know how I get on.

4 Responses

  1. Oh I laughed at this post. I’ve seen people with moles like that and thought “PLEASE pull the hairs out of that mole so I won’t want to do it for you!”

    And to get caught in a holding cell like that! I would have had a claustrophobic attack and been pouring in sweat and pissed off by the time they got to the door! Not a good entry way.

    I’m so glad you could get through all that and still be a happy girl! Thank God for sunny skies and singing birds, eh?

  2. I had to smile at the lightness and the eccentricity of this post. Wonderful!

    I once worked for a man who always had a sprout of grey hairs growing out of the ridge of his nose. Why he didn’t shave it I don’t know. When I spoke with him, which was too often, I had to try and steel myself not to look at the hairy nose. Rarely worked.

    • It’s really hard not to stare isn’t it? Once you’ve noticed it, it’s like your eyes are magnetically drawn to the blemish. Or the nose forest….

  3. They’re moles with beards and I’ve got a few of them. And no I won’t be pulling the hairs out as it (for some reason) hurts 100 times more than normal. I just put up with them as none are on my face!

Leave a Reply

