Samantha bites back – and she’s still not quite got it.

She still thinks you're jealous

Since yesterday’s batshit crazy article, which earned Ms Brick the coveted title of Wanker of the Week, there has been a lot of interest in Sam’s views, most of it horribly uncomplimentary. This has brought Sam out fighting or more accurately whining, and she’s penned another article in the Daily Mail (which can be found here: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2124782/Samantha-Brick-says-backlash-bile-yesterdays-Daily-Mail-proves-shes-right.html ) to explain why everyone’s ire proves that she’s right.

So let’s have a look at her reasoning shall we?

Firstly she’s horrified that people have been mean about her, complaining that folk have taken umbrage with what she’s written. Now don’t get me wrong, there are some proper lunatics drifting round the internet and I don’t doubt she’s had some really unpleasant comments arrive in her inbox in the last 24 hours but let’s be quite fair, you can’t go public in a national newpaper and denounce pretty much every woman in the UK and France as uglier than you, jealous of you and being an insecure bitch whose husband will leave them following once glance upon your glorious visage then expect the female contingent not to answer back. I’m afraid that if you dish it out in public, you’ve got to be prepared to take it as well. Particularly baffling is her comment about the women she knows:

But far worse came from those I had considered friends. When I logged on to Facebook, I found a group of them had torn me to shreds. Some were asking: ‘What the hell does Sam think she’s on?’  Really? You’re actually surprised that the women you know are pissed off? Yesterday, in front on millions upon millions of people, you denounced an unnamed collection of them as far uglier than you, jealous harridans who refused to have you as a bridesmaid because you would outshine them on their big day. One poor woman who had the temerity to be concentrating on the road rather than the people wandering along the pavement was accused of being so jealous of your superior beauty that she deliberately blanked you. Some of them were accused of not wanting you around because they thought their husbands were going to pack their bags and do one after just one sparkling conversation with your good self. You’ve called them ugly, insecure, jealous and pitiful and accused them of making your life miserable and now you’re baffled because they’ve turned on you? Can you really be so self-centred that you don’t see how offensive to them your remarks were?

“Women I’ve supported emotionally and financially taking the first opportunity to declare I had it coming.” Yes, women who counted you as a friend and who have quite possibly just been utterly denounced in a national newspaper are properly pissed off. Who’d have thought it?

“Without doubt, this is a gender issue. For not only is it mostly women who are attacking me, it is also because I am female that I am being attacked for acknowledging my attractiveness” No Sam, it isn’t. It’ s mainly women who are attacking you because you attacked women. You launched the salvo, this is the fallout. If you’d stood up and had a go at men, believe me they’d be biting back too.

“If Brad Pitt were to say: ‘Yes, I’m a good-looking fella,’ then the world would nod sagely in agreement. But if Angelina Jolie uttered something along those lines, she’d be subject to the same foaming-at-the-mouth onslaught hurled at me yesterday. ” If Angelina Jolie were to stand up and say ‘I am beautiful’ I, as a not unattractive but definitely in the average bracket, woman would smile and say ‘yes Angelina, you are’. Because she is. If she stood up and said ‘I am beautiful, much more beautiful than you and because of that you’re jealous of me. You won’t let me speak to your husband because you’re so insecure in your relationahip that you believe your husband will want me instantly if he sees me. You’d never let me be your bridesmaid because you’re so pathetically shallow that you wouldn’t allow anyone pretty to be part of the bridal party in case they outshone you’, I would smile and say ‘Angelina, you’re a fucking nutjob’. The problem is not acknowledging your beauty, I’m sure Angelina does, when I get tarted up for a night out I know I can look good, my friends are aware from comments and reactions they’ve had in the past that they are pretty women. No one has a problem with someone acknowledging she’s pretty when she is. What we have a problem with is pretty women either getting their own attractiveness WAY out of proportion or using it as a stick to beat others with.

“I’m the first to give out compliments when someone I know looks good or has made an effort. I don’t understand why other women don’t do the same.” Has it occurred to you that maybe, if you’ve spent all this time marvelling at how attractive you are, they think you don’t require compliments? Women do compliment each other, I compliment my friends when they look nice, when they’ve had their hair done, when I like their nail varnish colour or shoes, when they’ve written something clever or funny, I compliment my friends on a variety of things and they do the same for me. It’s perfectly normal. But then maybe it’s only perfectly normal for us because I dont’ think my friend’s husbands are even vaguely interested in me and I would be perfectly happy to leave Mr V alone in the house with any one of my friends. I trust him and I trust them. If one of my friends started suggesting that I was jealous of her and that my husband fancied her believe me she’d be getting told the truth in no uncertain terms.

“While I was tearfully dealing with the emails and calls outside the supermarket, a young man approached me, offered to park my car and even get me a coffee.He could see I was having a tough time — and yes, my looks had helped me out again.” For the love of all that’s holy woman, that’s not because you’re beautiful, it’s because the young man has been brought up well and taught that if you see someone in distress, you ask if they’re ok and you try to help if you can. I carried a pram up the stairs of the tube station for a young mum the other week. I helped an old lady get a cab in London and I picked a small boy up who had fallen on the floor and found his mum on the promenade in Brighton. I didn’t do any of these things because I thought the person was beautiful, I did it because they were people who needed a bit of a hand and I was able to help. It’s simple compassion that leads people to do these things Sam, not lust. The world would be a sad place indeed if the only time people helped each other in life was if they fancied them.

“While I’ve been shocked and hurt by the global condemnation, I have just this to say: my detractors have simply proved my point. Their level of anger only underlines that no one in this world is more reviled than a pretty woman.” Wrong Sam, the level of anger underlines that your article was a quite staggering lapse of judgement on your part, not only because you’ve pissed off half the women in Britain but also because you’ve pissed off your friends by slating them in public. And following it with this article has underlined that you have very little regard for anyone’s opinion but your own. There is so much more to a woman than how she looks and frankly, your looks are not strong enough to compensate for the lack of personality. You’ve spent two articles blaming every flaw in your personal and professional relationships with other females on them and have at no point given any time to thinking that some of the problem may lie with you. I have many beautiful friends, who I think the world of and who I trust. All these women are gorgeous, smart, funny, and popular, with lots of male and female friends. The world has fallen for Kate Middleton good and proper, actresses like Jenifer Aniston, Carey Mulligan, Amanda Seyfried sell out cinemas, women don’t have a problem with beauty, what we have a problem with is women who think they are better than us for no good reason, who use their looks as a weapon or an excuse and who think they’re irresistable. Character counts for a lot, in theory, Dawn French who is terribly overweight shouldn’t be beautiful but she is, she’s funny and she’s confident and it comes through. Never forget that beauty is in the eye of the beholder and what we’re all beholding at the moment is a woman with an overinflated sense of ego who has no social skills and no ability to recognise their own flaws. Most of us aren’t judging you on what you look like, we’re judging you on what you said and what you said was unattractive. Your relationships with women won’t improve with wrinkles and grey hair, the only way it’ll improve is with a good long look at the way you behave and act. Given this article I doubt that’ll be happening anytime soon.

13 Responses

  1. What a dozy cow. A dozy friendless cow now, it would seem.

    By the way, hubby isn’t exactly Brad Pitt, is he? Not that there’s anything remotely wrong with that – I’m sure he’s a nice bloke. A nice bloke who probably tries very hard not to understand English too much ….

    She’s a bore.

    • Hubby dictates what she wears, how much she weighs and what she’s allowed to eat. He once locked her in their car because she was wearing an outfit he deemed unsuitable. This couple are a pychiatrist’s wet dream – one with delusions and one with a control complex. Still, saves spoiling another couple I suppose.

  2. Fucking nutjob is right! Man! The sad thing is, no one will ever be able to tell her otherwise and so she will forever blame her sad lonely existence on her “beauty” (which I am failing to see no matter how many pictures I look at. She is fine looking sure, but not a smidge above average. And then you read the words that come from her and BAM! ugly as all get out).

    I agree with Plubby…what a bore!

  3. She’s no doubt reveling in all the attention, though.

  4. wow, what a piece of work!

  5. she must be a complete nutjob to believe what she spouts…although I think I’ve had the misfortune to work with a lady I suspect saw herself in a similar way – needless to say she was way off the mark

    Totally disagree with her about “no one in this world is more reviled than a pretty woman” – I loved that film and yes Julia Roberts was gorgeous (in a completely heterosexual female appreciation of another’s beauty kind of way).

  6. http://michaelcargill.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/samantha-brick-does-your-horoscopes/

    Saw this and thought you might like some psychic advice from Ms Brick

    🙂

  7. The woman is mentally ill.

    I wonder what her thoughts on the dustbin men are.

  8. They were talking about this crazy bird on the radio the other morning. I don’t think I’m more shallow than most, but I love when my girlfriends look beautiful – it’s like yeah, see that hot bitch? She’s MY friend! Of course, it helps that their personalities aren’t remotely like this box of walnuts.

    She’s going to be one lonely lady one day.

    • Ah she’ll always have the lovely Pascal, the gun toting, smasll furry shooting, stone washed denim moustache man. Who once locked her in the family car until she agreed to change into an outfit he approved of. Nutters, the pair of them.

  9. Completely bonkers. But, oh have we had fun laughing at her.

Leave a Reply

